Rainbows and unicorns….

Posted: December 16, 2010 in Life In General

When Harry Met Sally…..

Andy would probably gag, but this is one of my favorite movies, and now it seems to be keeping a hold of my heart even more, considering our own circumstances. I like romantic chick flicks in general but I *love* very very few. The Notebook is my all time ultimate favorite movie but When Harry Met Sally has been a long time favorite of mine.

What originally made me love this movie was Harry’s whole philosophy on men and women’s platonic relationships….. how it was impossible….. loved that and couldn’t have agreed more! But what made it a Hall of Famer movie for me was the ending scene in the clip above…. it just resonates so deeply in me now. I guess you have to be of a certain age to truly appreciate the scene. I think it touches me more deeply now that I am in my 40’s and divorced and after I pined away waiting for Andy to *notice* me for a few months.

So, yeah….. I’m am pretty much a sap for this romantic crap right now…. Every day, I wake up and can’t believe that this is my life…. every day, I wake up excited because I know he loves me….. every day, I wonder how in the hell I continue to be so lucky to have such an awesome guy in my life after so many years of struggles…..

I know I am always waiting for the other shoe to drop…. for something to go wrong…. for Andy to turn the other cheek suddenly or find something better….. but, despite all that, I am very *GRATEFUL* that I have him in my life and that he loves me for me and that he puts up with me when no one else could…. Someday, I will finally be convinced that I deserve this…..

So I just wanted to share this final scene from When Harry Met Sally with you tonight, because it is really the greatest scene in the whole movie, and because it is just such a feel good moment between two friends as they realize that they love each other deeply. It makes me all warm and fuzzy inside and makes my world fill up with rainbows and unicorns! Ahhhhhhhh…………………………. 😆

Comments
  1. Nate says:

    You forgot butterflies! and Puppy Dogs! Rainbows, unicorns, butterflies and puppy dogs! 😆

    “When Harry Met Sally” is on my all-time fave list too! Great minds think alike! I think Billy Crystal’s end scene speech is incredible. Just what everyone secretly wants – someone who loves everything about them, even their flaws! (saaa-woon!)

  2. Nate says:

    and just so you know – you do deserve this – more than anyone I know YOU deserve this.

Say what you mean, Mean what you say...

