Goodbye 2010! (Lessons Learned Post)

Posted: December 31, 2010 in Life In General

I am so ready for 2010 to be OVER! It has been a transitional year for me and I learned many, many HUGE life lessons this year….. but I am still anxious to begin new chapters in my life. Here is a collection of some of the lessons I learned. I tried to reference the date that I felt that I learned this as well, based on my blogs from 2010…. I was too lazy to link them but if you know me well enough then you know how to find them. πŸ˜›

1. “I will no longer waste my time on anyone who is unloving * uncaring * insincere * disrespectful * catty * forgetful * ungrateful * greedy * bitter * fake * hateful * jealous * dishonest * two faced * psychotic * inconsiderate pricks!” 2/23/2010 – I should have made this into a sign so I would remember it always…. because I obviously got off track on this one…. πŸ™„

2. Some Rumors are not worth denying…. like the one saying that I used to sleep around with Bret Michaels back in the day…. Bwhahahahahahahahaaaa! 3/23/2010 πŸ˜‰

3. Let the right one in. Let the old dreams die. Let the wrong ones go. 5/9/2010 – yes, letting go can be an awfully freeing thing and I learned alot about this in 2010.

4. I am NOT a victim. I am an active participant n the CHOICES I have made in my life… I need to own up to those CHOICES, move on, let go, forgive myself. 6/9/2010 – this one is sooooo important in order to not dwell on the crap you have put up with in your life…. πŸ˜‰

5. Hope doesn’t make someone be who they really aren’t just because you have it. 7/6/2010 – LOL! This one was a tough lesson to learn! You can’t make someone be who you want them to be. That never works out. If they show you who they are and they suck, get rid of them…. they will be toxic in your life…

6. I am the Dad and Tim is the Mom. 8/15/2010 – I didn’t know how to respond to Chelsea when she told me this, but now I am proud to be exactly who she sees me as….. I don’t mind being the Dad. πŸ˜†

7. Just because someone makes a statement out loud and with conviction does NOT make it true, sane, or rational. It doesn’t. And I am no longer going to coddle people’s screwed up perceptions and act like they are real and true and right when they are really crazy, insane, irrational, and f’d up! I can’t do it anymore…. I don’t have the time or the patience anymore… πŸ™„

8. The opinions of anyone between the ages of 12 and 24 are of absolutely no use to me EVER. Those kids don’t have enough experience in life to EVER tell me anything of any real value. I especially loathe anyone less than 18 (and this included Chelsea early in the year) who have ZERO friend experience or boyfriend experience telling me ANYTHING about relationships…. get the hell out of my conversation, spoiled snotty brat! 😑

9. Say you are sorry when you are. Don’t say you are sorry when you aren’t. Apologizing for the sake of making the peace when you are 40+ years old is a waste of time… you are settling…. and half of your life is reasonably over now… you settled for the first 40 years. Are you ready to settle for the next 40? πŸ™„

10. Brett Favre is a dumbass. – Okay, this isn’t really a lesson I learned…. it’s a FACT, JACK! and I just wanted it documented that I said it… πŸ˜›

11. Don’t let anyone put you down to make themselves feel better. I watched people do this to me and others that I love dearly this past year. I am done with that. I will NOT tolerate that anymore. They don’t deserve to know me if that’s their agenda…. πŸ˜›

12. It is okay to say, “No, that isn’t good enough…” and then just walk away completely 12/30/2010

13. Treasure yourself – love yourself unconditionally, respect yourself, be proud, don’t take any shit, value yourself, know your weaknesses, be real, be true to yourself, be honest with yourself ALWAYS, believe in yourself, forgive yourself, accept responsibility for who you are and stick to it! 4/11/2010 πŸ™‚

14. Exercise does NOT give you more energy. 1/15/2010 – I hate when people say this because for me it just is NOT true… after I exercise, I need a NAP!!! 😯

15. My father is a dork but he is a great guy! You wouldn’t say that about him if you asked me this at age 14…. or age 20…. or even age 30…. but I have really come to truly appreciate my dad as a person for exactly who he is this past year. It took me a while…. but I can honestly say that I love him EXACTLY the way he is and accept every single thing about him…. probably because I have finally come to accept and ENJOY that we are exactly the same person in most aspects. Much love to my father came about in 2010.

16. Accept responsibility for yourself – your opinions, your choices, your personality, your words, your actions….. Be you and stick to it!

17. Don’t give up on love. There is a second chance. And he’s better than you ever imagined … He’s out there…. he may not know it…. but he’s out there… and he loves you…. exactly as you are… flaws and all… 11/15/2010 πŸ˜€

I learned alot of other lessons but these were the most prolific and carried the most weight with me….. I hope that I can carry them with me into 2011 and make it my best year yet! I am so excited about the prospect of my LIFE in 2011! I hope everyone else learned from their past and has an awesome 2011! Tomorrow, I will post my New Year’s Resolutions…. much less cerebral but eh… whatever! lol!

Much love!!!

Comments
  1. Brenda says:

    Wow! This is a really great list, Renee! How long did this posting take?

    I was going to tell you which one was my favorite but you have so many good ones that it is hard to pick out just one or even just two!

    I will say that I feel exactly as you do on the exercise one. I also feel very drained after exercising and need a nap but once I became used to it I did start looking forward to the stress relief! Just something to think about, dear!

  2. Hilary says:

    Well, I would say that #13 is the most important cuz if you follow that one, all the other good ones will fall into place! Definitely TREASURE YOURSELF!

    πŸ˜€

  3. Sarah & Al says:

    I love the list, Renee. And I loved your answer to the EP thread on Lessons Learned in 2010! It was very real and brutally truthful. Very insightful.

    Hope your New Year’s Eve was fun!

    Sarah

  4. Nate says:

    You slept with BRET MICHAELS????? He’s hhhaaawwwwtttttttttttt!!!!!!!! Holy crap! Why did you never tell me this??? 😯

    My fave is lucky #7. If Stephen didn’t live by this rule, he would be just as crazy and bipolar as me! It’s how we stay married! Ha ha ha! πŸ˜†

Say what you mean, Mean what you say...

