Dog Update

Posted: January 27, 2011 in Life In General

OK… DOG UPDATE! πŸ˜†

It wasn’t as bad as I had thought, especially since I calmed down by the time they got here…. but POOR KIANA! I felt so incredibly bad for her! The German Shepherd was VERY persistent in trying to mount her and Kiana was just freaked out. She kept warning him…. first with very polite growls and soon with more aggressive barks and he STILL kept after her! I was so proud of her when I leashed her and made her sit next to me and she did it very willingly….. πŸ™‚

The German Shepherd is BIG. I don’t know what I was expecting but I wasn’t expecting his head to reach my braline when he looked up at me. And his paws are HUGE!!!! I didn’t hold him on the leash but he picked Andy up off the ground a couple of times so he would have handed my ass to me.

One thing I noticed about the dog right away is that he would cower when Andy yelled at him or tried to pet him after yelling at him. That would be a sign of abuse… and that worries me…. One of his ears is half tore off, he has scars on his face, and he is pretty gangly looking. I think it is very creepy how he won’t look people in the eye, too, but he was starting to look at Andy….

Now, I’m sure you will all say that I am obviously biased because I was freaking out like a spoiled brat earlier. I would say you are probably right. But… I’m not dogging (pun intended) the poor guy to make way for my guy, Petey…. Petey may end up being a dick to Kiana, too, and I would NOT want that for Kiana at all. I do feel like Kiana was here first. It’s her domain. And she should be the one who is MOST comfortable with whatever arrangement is made. I don’t think she wants some horny asshole following her around asking for sex at every single turn and can’t take NO for an answer.

I didn’t say anything really when Andy brought the German Shepherd (Lester, he named him…. don’t ask…. πŸ˜† ) in and tried for 2 hours to get Kiana and him to get along. Kiana kept trying to hide behind Andy or be by me the whole time. My concern was for her because she was just very agitated and breathing beyond what she should and freaking out really…. So I finally put her on a leash and made her watch martial arts action scenes from Chocolate with me… which totally calmed her down because Kiana is badass like that and girl ninjas soothe her soul… or yeah, something like that…

Andy then admits that he didn’t really think this through well. He wanted to take her back to the guy but didn’t have enough time because he had to work and had no one to cover his shift for him. So now, I am watching the new dog and poor Kiana is locked in the bedroom…. 😦 Poor girl. And I am pretty sure I am up for the NIGHT because I have caught him trying to claw the front door down three times already. Super. PLUS, I am now signing in to work 1 hour later tomorrow morning so I can wait for Andy to get home because this dog is destructive if left alone…. *sigh*

This did prompt a discussion of what would be a more ideal situation next time and what to do for future possibilities. I still feel slighted about him not really being able to picture a future with me but there is nothing I can do if he does not see that and work towards that. We all blaze our own trails. I can cry about it or accept it for what it is. I will see what ACTIONS he takes in the future… right?

Do I sound more reasonable and sane now?

I’m sorry for the freak out… that whole conversation and the subsequent actions that followed just caught me completely off guard today. I had a HORRIBLE day at work where I spent several hours on the phone with tech support only to get nothing done but to waste my time. My boss wasn’t answering emails as usual. Very frustrating day. I just wanted to come home and not think of anything at all…. so I’m sorry. I wigged out in a major way today….

Thank you all for loving me and accepting the train wreck I truly am. You guys are amazing!

Comments
  1. Nate says:

    You’re Welcome. I deserve a medal. πŸ˜‰

    I hope you will be okay all night with that big dog! You are really short! Don’t let the dog carry you off!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Luvs U!

    • Renee says:

      Well, you will love this. I took him out to go pee around 2am and he DRAGGED me about 15 feet down the snow covered sidewalk before I was able to regain control. I had to do several ninja moves to right myself. Thank God I watched Chocaolate earlier. πŸ˜†

  2. Brenda says:

    Well, you do sound more reasonable now. I hope everything went okay for the night.

    Did Andy research the German Shepherd as a breed? They generally are like Boxers in that they must be socialized and taught basic behaviors early on in their lives because that can shape their personalities. Abuse can make them skittish and distrusting, which could lead to possible dangers later. They are extremely strong and not for the weak. Aren’t you only 5 foot 3 inches, Renee? I don’t know how strong you are but you really need to be if he wanted you to walk the dog and such.

    Is “Lester” fixed? That won’t stop the urge to mount as that is more of a domination / Alpha dog behavior. But it could calm him down in other ways. Most shepherds are not dogs that like to be left alone. They can get bored and start finding ways to entertain themselves, which may mean ripping your mother-in-law’s hand sewn curtains off the windows πŸ˜‰ or scratching open the couch pillows.

    I wish I had seen your posts last night or had called you last night. Darn it! I hope you have a better day today. It is Friday and you can take a couple of days off from the grind and relax. Just take the weekend, don’t overanalyze or overthink, and live in the present, dear. The future will be here soon enough, whether you like it or not, with or without him, with or without you.

    And yes. It will be okay.

    Bren

    • Nate says:

      Gee, Mama Brenda. You are like Yoda! πŸ˜›

      Luvs U!!!!!!!!

    • Renee says:

      I don’t know if he did any research or not, Brenda. And, yes….. he was a bit big for me to handle but I think I could have gotten the hang of it. He seemed calmer by this morning and much more docile. I feel bad for the poor guy. He really needs to be on a farm or somewhere he can run. Andrew’s small home with no yard wouldn’t probably be ideal for him, but maybe it could have worked? He wasn’t fixed but I think that’s what Andy wants is a litter of puppies….. but yeah… that may be why he was a little rambunctious with my poor sweet Kiana.

      (lol! I forgot about your MIL’s curtains! lol!)

      Andy did make a point this morning of saying that his intention was not to keep Petey out. Well, I know that…. I just think he doesn’t picture a long term future for US so taking my life into consideration of his life decisions is not of any priority at all. I guess it just made me feel a little stupid because I always talk like we will be together forever. Just this week, I said something about next Christmas. I feel dumb now for saying it because maybe he never thinks beyond today?

      Now I’m rambling…lol! Ok. I am just going to try to get through TODAY. Thanks so much, Brenda! I wish you had been available last night, too! I was glad to hear Lucy’s surgery went well, though! Love you!

  3. Leigha Marie says:

    You aren’t dumb, Renee. It’s a known fact that women always think in terms of future and guys just don’t. My mom has a German Shepherd. I hate that dog. He’s very possessive and jealous and scary. And he jumps on everyone when they come in the front door. I hate that! My bff from college has one too and he is a dream dog but she raised him from a puppy. His only bad thing is shedding! Hair everywhere! Yuk!

    xxxooo hugs&kisses xxxooo
    Leigha Marie

  4. Rick says:

    I have a german shepherd and she is the best damn dog Ive ever had. Training is what makes all the difference. I live in the country so she has lots of room to run and she does alot of it. shes real laid back usually.

  5. Julie says:

    “I don’t think she wants some horny asshole following her around asking for sex at every single turn and can’t take NO for an answer.”

    Sounds like my ex-husband

Say what you mean, Mean what you say...

