Gifts for a boyfriend because I’m stupid like that…

Posted: February 19, 2011 in GIFTS

Okay, so since my personalized gift giving is not being accepted by my current boyfriend, I need help. I have never really had to buy “normal” gifts for someone I am in love with. I don’t even know what is “normal”… πŸ™„ I’m so lame… I know…

So could all of you give me gift suggestions that are just what normal couples buy for each other that can be bought at a regular store like Walmart or Kohl’s?

I’m being totally serious here… I have absolutely no clue whatsoever… Tim and I didn’t buy each other gifts for years… My ex-boyfriend and I always made each other cards and jewelry and stuff. He was into that. I have no other man-woman relationships to go off of….

So, your suggestions below are appreciated… no criteria other than it must be able to be bought at a regular store. And, please, no weird items or out of the ordinary gift items (like I would know…but…). I am looking for items that people normally buy their spouses or boyfriends… um… like those very vanilla couples that you see… the ones that buy each other gloves for Christmas… get the idea? Like *THAT*….

I plan on saving this post special under a new category so I can find it quickly in the future for when I need ideas…

Thanks, guys!

Comments
  1. Nate says:

    I have no real idea either cuz I make all my gifts for Stephen but here’s what Stephen said:

    cuff links
    cologne
    sports or concert tickets
    CDs or DVDs
    Ties

    Stephen says this is his short list for when he buys for his brothers, who hate him. Take that as you will. 😐

    • Renee says:

      Well, he does have a Amazon wishlist so that helps I guess, but I don’t like being that predictable… and people still wear cufflinks alot? Wow! 😯

  2. Hilary says:

    O! This is fun! Let me go over the list of shit I’ve bought my dad over the last few years: electric razor, box of golf balls, a racketball paddle cover, wine corker thingie, wine rack that he hated, a floatie keychain thing, and a chair massager. Can you tell I didn’t grow up with him? I have no idea who the hell he really is. I am one step away from just buying him a candle set every year like I do for my mail lady.

  3. Sarah & Al says:

    Al here. Why are you de-personalizing this? You should give a gift that is meaningful and special. Did I miss something?

    • Renee says:

      Oh, Al…… yes. You missed alot. Ask Sarah or catch up on reading.

      I have decided to just give him normal vanilla gifts because 1. he doesn’t appreciate the thoughtful, heartfelt gifts I have been giving, 2. he seems uncomfortable….., and 3. I think that is what he would prefer….. 😐

  4. rick says:

    here’s what I would want from anyone, girlfriend or not — mudflaps for my truck, a good set of steel toed boots, a Texas A&M baseball cap, new belt, new wallet, and a waterproof diver watch. So now go get them for me, woman! hahaha!

  5. Thomas says:

    What about vintage concert tee shirts? I always think those are cool. I don’t know that it’s a typical thing to buy, tho. Everyone else seems to have the typical items down already. Just a thought.

    • Renee says:

      I love the idea, but what if I spent all sorts of time and money finding the perfect one (in my mind) and then he just barely says anything or nothing at all about it….. I know this sounds insane, but I kind of want to be able to give him things that *I* haven’t invested my heart and soul into to protect myself from being disappointed and hurt, ya know?

      Ok………… I sound psycho……. πŸ˜† Oh well……..

  6. Brenda says:

    Well, I think I may be one of the “vanilla” couples. We tend to give each other very traditional gifts and save special ones for vacation times. Here’s the “vanilla” list —

    1. the dreaded leather gloves
    2. A nice dress shirt and tie
    3. Cuff links or a tie bar
    4. Cigars with Humidor
    5. Business card holder and blotter for his home office
    6. Deluxe Poker gift set
    7. New Fishing Pole with Tackle Box
    8. Engraved Money Clip
    9. Microbrew Club Membership
    10. Laptop Bag

    That’s the last 10 gifts I have given my husband on either Christmas, birthdays, anniversaries, Father’s Day, Valentine’s Day, whatever day. He seemed pleased with them all.

    Bren

    • Renee says:

      Hmmm……… I like these….. except…… he doesn’t wear dress clothes regularly, he doesn’t own a laptop, he doesn’t smoke, play poker, or fish……. hmmmm……. damn! This is gonna be harder than I thought….

      (the candle set Hilary gives the mail lady is looking better and better….. I’m tellin’ ya!)

Say what you mean, Mean what you say...

