So my boyfriend tells me 3 days ago that he is finally down to his ideal weight again. Apparently, after he started dating me, he gained like 10 pounds. Funny. I did too. Hmmm… Anyway, so he has been obsessed with his weight and he’s been living on tuna sandwiches, wheat thins, and canned fruit for like 3 weeks. Oh, and he has been madly obsessed with walking at work. He walks no matter what for work. A round at work is 2 miles. He probably normally would walk that 4 times a night maybe. Since the obsessing started, he has been doing this round like 8 or 9 times a night. That’s 16 miles a night!

Okay. So he tells me he is down in his weight 3 days ago. The next day, he needed to drop his truck off at the shop to get his brakes fixed. His dad was going to go get him from the shop, which is about 30 miles away in the town he works in. Okay. Sounds like a plan, right? That was the plan! As I knew it and as his dad knew it. Good.

My sweetheart works 3rd shift and apparently a zombie bit him that night and ate his brain. 🙄

So I get to Andy’s at like 6pm after work. That’s the night I was all frustrated and fell asleep on the couch. He woke me up, got me coffee, and started just casually talking about work and such. Then, out of the blue he says, “So I bought a mountain bike today and I rode it home.” Me: 😯 Uh… WHAT????

Yeah.

Almost 30 miles.

I just about had a heart attack.

He’s like my dad, which may drive me insane.

I seriously almost freaked out. You could tell by the look on his face that he knew I would be freaking out. He was trying not to say much and just let me babble on and ask him the same questions over and over again… How far was it? (He didn’t know) Was he okay? (A little sore but ok) Did he hurt anywhere? (Duplicate answer) What happened to his dad? (He called and told him he didn’t need a ride…) Did he tell ANYONE he was doing this? (NO) Had he even been on a bike since he was a kid? (NO)

He knew this was a CRAZY ASS thing he did. He was trying to play it off like it was no big deal and that I was making it too big a deal.

WTF EVER!

It was a big deal! No one on earth knew he was doing it… what route he was taking… how he was getting anywhere… when he should be back… NOTHING!!! And I am not overreacting… Have ya’ll ever been to the Doe Network website? Go on over there and browse around and see just how many people disappear into thin air ALL. THE. TIME! I mean, seriously! I’m sure all those missing people there thought it wouldn’t happen to them either! He could have been hit by a car and thrown into a ditch or ravine. He could have hit something or popped a tire that would cause him to biff it in a drainage ditch and suffer a severe life threatening concussion. He could have just been found by some sadistic asshole like the Texas Chainsaw Massacre dude and taken into some remote farmhouse and tortured for 3 days until all the blood ran out of his body.

I mean, WTF???? 😡

I actually think I handled this well, given the way he told me and the complete disregard for my feelings… I explained to him that he now had someone who CARED about him and LOVED him and it wasn’t right to do something like that because I want him around! I don’t want to have to worry about what crazy ass thing he is going to do next without telling me! I don’t want him to be like my dad! He still seemed to just act non-chalant about it. I wanted to tell him how selfish it was to do that, but I refrained because I doubt that would go over well…

But it was selfish… When someone loves you and you love them, you have an obligation to that other person, be it your souse, lover, parent, child, whoever… You have an obligation to keep yourself safe and alive so they won’t have to live through the misery of losing you in such a tragic circumstance. And, like I said, I’m sure all the poeple who have died from their own stupidity because of wrong decisions and actions never thought for one second that that freak accident would happen to them… Sometimes, you have no control over that… but sometimes you do and you can show some devotion and responsiblity to those people who truly love and care about you…

I’m getting upset about it again… 😦

The thing is… if he had told me he was going to try this… yes, I would have pitched a fit and tried to talk him out of it. BUT, at the end of the day, I know how stubborn Andy is. I know that when he decides to do something, he is doing it. Period. I know this about him. If he had insisted on doing it despite my objections, then I would have said FINE. And then I would have just made sure he called me once during the ride to let me know he was okay and I would have made sure I knew what route he was taking. That’s not so bad, right? I don’t think that is an unreasonable request at all for the woman who absolutely adores you and has been the only woman to absolutely adore you for this length of time your entire life besides your mom and grandma! RIGHT?

Geez… I hope I don’t have to explain this to him again. I may really lose it next time… 🙄

Comments
  1. Hilary says:

    28 miles? Wow! He was determined I take it!

    I get why you were upset, tho. I would have been too. ((HUGS))

  2. Brenda says:

    Oh my! I can see why you are so upset over this! If my husband ever did that, he would be sleeping outside in a lawn chair for the night! Maybe it’s a maternal thing to want to know where the people you love are at all the time and that they are safe. Single people, particularly older singles (35+), seem to be used to not having to answer to anyone.

    I’m sure Andy understands now as long as you told him what your fears were. I’m glad he made it hme oka! Was he sore for the next day or two?

    Bren

    • Renee says:

      He said his ass was sore and that was it. 😆 He’s not used to having to account for himself to anyone else but I could tell by the way he wouldn’t look me in the eye that he knew it was wrong to not tell me…. *sigh*

  3. Nate says:

    This is HILARIOUS!!!! Who bike rides 28 MILES *WILLINGLY*???????? HAHAHAHA!!!!! I agree with why you felt you needed to know, but it’s still FUNNY STUFF, SUGARBEAR!!!!!

  4. rick says:

    fricking show off.

Say what you mean, Mean what you say...

