I need clothes that actually fit well. Please.

Posted: April 28, 2011 in FLUFFY CHICKS ROCK!, I need to win the Lotto, Patience is a Virtue, Real friends give me money and food, Useful Shit, You owe me big time!

I have been looking at dresses ALL.DAMN.DAY! I am so indecisive!

So, for my trip to Italy, I really need to plan well in terms of clothing. All my stuff is a little tired and worn so I have been looking for beautifully made classic pieces to buy that will keep FOREVER! (And I do mean FOREVER.)

I am a plus size girl and finding well made clothing is kind of an oxymoron. Most items are not cut well and make you look frumpy and old. I’M NOT OLD! And I *HATE* with a passion unflattering necklines. I have great boobs! I *like* them to be well featured! Scoop necklines and crew necklines are awful for my boobs. They make boobs look saggy by accentuating just how far away from your neck they really are. THINK ABOUT IT!

I also hate my arms so I have to find a dress with sleeves that isn’t heavy and winter like. The weather in Italy should be around 70 or 80 degrees in the day and aound 50 or 60 in the evening. So medium weight long sleeves at night when we are dining out will be fine. I hate my arms. They are flabby and have so much loose skin from all the weight I have lost so far. I hate them! If a great aunt ever dies and leaves me alot of cashola, I am sooo getting my arms done. Like yesterday.

Annnywaaaayyyy….

So, in my search for the perfect plus size clothing, I have found some awesome shops online. And I know a good portion of you women who read here are plus size so I am going to share my favorites with you from the shops I have found because it will really open up your eyes to some great designers and design houses out there that I never knew existed but that make some really stunning clothing.

The first in the bunch is my absolute FAVORITE. IGIGI!!!! They have beautiful clothing that sounds like it is exceptionally made and fits many body types. They have tips for ordering each piece and there are reviews on many of the styles. They have a classic little black dress that I really really REALLY want. It’s out of my budget range at $158, but if I can wear it forever? It may be worth the price. Click on the picture to go to the site!

I am in LOVE with this dress!!!

Oh, and if I ever get remarried (which will probably not be for a few years), I hope like hell I can find THIS DRESS by Igigi by then! LOVE IT!

Dream Wedding Dress. *sigh*

Did you know that department stores like Macy’s and Nordstroms are offering plus size clothing now by actual real designers? Michael Kors, Ralph Lauren, Calvin Klein, DKNY, Suzi Chin!!! I’m loving that! And really… what’s NOT to love about this babydoll pintuck blouse!

Amazing Micael Kors shirt at Macys.com

Or what about a perfect red shirtdress by Calvin Klein!

Calvin Klein Shirtdress in FIRE RED!!! Oh my!

And last but NOT least is Kiyonna! This shop ROCKS the wrap dress and if you are a plus size woman, you know that the wrap dress is a MUST HAVE item! Once again, it’s a pricier place but one of my favorite people in the entertainment industry, Shanda from manandwife.tv, recommends this shop and she looks beautiful! (Hey! I just realized I do know someone else named close to Shonda, the ex-girlfriend! 😆 )

Anyway, I love every piece of clothing at Kiyonna. I love love LOVE that they have photos of real live regular plus size women of varying heights that model the dresses in addition to the gorgeous professional plus size models. Talk about really seeing clothes for what they are!!! That is unheard of in the plus size market! Someday, I WILL own this dress!

The Legacy Wrap Dress... perfection!

I wish I was rich. I need to win the lotto, dammit! Dressing well does not work well when you have kids in college or who never ever intend to leave home! 🙄 But my hope is to buy ONE DAMN DRESS for my trip to Italy. ONE! That’s all I want!

So it looks like I will definitely try to list some items for sale on etsy this weekend… because I MUST have a new dress. I miss getting all dressed up. 😦

Comments
  1. Nate says:

    OMG!!!!! LUUUUVVVVVV THE WEDDING DRESS!!!!! Andy would be crazy STUPID not to marry you just to see you in that dress. Besides, you are kind of cute. And smart. And wonderful. And a steal of a dealio!

    I will marry you but we BOTH get to get that dress, deal????? 🙂

    I have never heard of Igigi. What a shame!!!! They have great styles for DQs like me!!!!

    I do LUVVVVV Nordstroms, tho!!!!!! My FAVORITE place to shop online!

  2. Tracey says:

    I like monif C. They have this Marilyn dress that is gorgeous on curvy girls like you an me. I think the site is monifc.com

  3. Hilary says:

    I feel your pain, Renee. I hate that clothing companies just assume that curvy women want to wear flower prints, or appliqued shirts, or tee shirts with swirly shit or tweety bird on them. And they always cut them in horrific designs that are not flattering at all!

    I took a que from you and started redesigning my own clothing. I don’t think I own a regular unaltered tee shirt anymore! 😆 I have cut every single neckline on every single tee I own. Thanks for making this my obsession! Thanks alot! 😛

    • Renee says:

      😆 Yeah, I think I have my own tee shirt obsession… Now, when I wear normal tee shirts, they don’t feel like they fit right so I will eventually end up cutting them all up. 😆

      Have you seen my latest? I don’t know if I have posted a pic yet. Maybe I’ll do that this weekend. The tee shirt says “McAwesome” on it. Great fat chick shirt! 😆

  4. K'nesha says:

    have you looked at the Baby Phat line? They make lots of cool clothes just for bigger women with bigger cleavage lines. I love there stuff!

    • Renee says:

      I have seen some of their stuff, K. It’s not really in my style of dress but the dresses are cut to make women look amazing! Wish I could find someone that does that without a logo showing…

  5. Brenda says:

    Wow! Those first two dresses are beautiful! I definitely think you should splurge on the first one. Yes, it is double what you would normally want to pay but it is classic with very clean lines and it sounds like it is well made and could stand the test of time with careful maintenance! The neckline is very flattering!

    Bren

    • Renee says:

      Quit tempting me, Bren! I am so poor right now and my house is literally falling apart around me. I’m going to see if I can get some things sold to buy it…

  6. Ashleigh says:

    I VOTE FOR #1!!!!!

Say what you mean, Mean what you say...

