Can I Pass ANYTHING? Come on!!!

Posted: June 29, 2011 in Are you TRYING to kill me?, Blogging to Blog, I Suck at Life, I'm the Wimpy Kid, MALARIA???, My body hates me

Yep. I FAILED! Fucking glucose numbers… here’s my new life:

So I am low carbing it until I can see my new doctor next week. Yes. I am getting a new doctor. You guys have been telling me for almost 2 years to do it and I finally decided to do just that. My new doctor will be in the Freeport Health Network and does come recommended so we will see how it goes…

I really do like Dr.Mona. The problems I have had lately, though, are that she always either seems too rushed or I don’t actually see her. And her staff always acts like EVERYTHING is a big deal and Dr. Mona then sees me and says nothing at all about whatever the staff was freaking out about.

The last time I went in there, I told the nurse I was having heart palpitations randomly 6 or 7 times a day. I knew this was a side effect of progesterone so I didn’t think much of it but she asked if I was having any symptoms so I told her… The nurse like freaked out and started saying I probably would need a referral to a cardiologist… yadda, yadda, yadda… Dr. Mona came in and said NOTHING about them at all and I knew she was double booked and seemed to not have alot of time… πŸ™„

Now, I *know* the heart palps are probably normal. I looked it up on webMD after all. πŸ˜† BUT… I need a doctor who will actually take the time to sit down and TELL ME they are normal. Don’t get me wrong… Dr. Mona was a God send to me several times over the last 10 years or so. However, I’m older and wiser and more needy now. I appreciate smart staff and her staff just isn’t always smart.

Anyway, so I am switching doctors and I won’t see a dietitian until I do that. I did the 3 hour Glucose Tolerance Test today. The receptionist chick at my doctor’s office called immediately and told me I *MUST* see a dietitian ASAP… like I might die or something. Seemed kind of like an overreaction but what do I know…

Here’s the numbers:

Fasting number = 119
1 Hour later after horrid over carbonated drink = 202
2 hours after horrible carbonated drink = 156

From what I have read, the fasting number should have been under 100. The 1 hr mark should have been under 180 and the 2 hour mark should have been under 155. So I wasn’t that far off but I was over. This sounds like a “pre-diabetes” situation EXCEPT Dr. Mona made me go but all the diabetic supplies (glucose meter, lancets, test strips) and she prescribed me some med that helps lower blood sugars.

Now, granted, I get that I am very susecptible to having those numbers increase on their own but shit… she isn’t even giving me a CHANCE to try to get this under control with diet and exercise!AND… she just prescribed all this crap and didn’t explain ANYTHING to me about why or what I’m supposed to do or anything! WTF? 😑

I have a sentimental feeling for Dr. Mona but I’m done. I am hoping my new doctor and the staff at FHN will take better care of me. I’m old and decrepit so I need some tender loving care, dammit! πŸ˜†

So that’s my week so far… pretty much failing the whole damn week… *sigh*

Comments
  1. Hilary says:

    Oh my, sweetness! Soooo sooo sorry to hear this! I know you wanted some good news. 😦
    Time to get your Fitday back in order and start logging those food items again! πŸ™‚
    You’ll do fine on the new diet, girl!

    • Renee says:

      Yeah…. started it up again, Hil. Had a fairly good day…. but there were those chocolate chip cookies. 😯 But my blood sugars were normal all day! Now, I’m frustrated! 😑

  2. Nate is so VERY HOTTT!!!! says:

    LA-HOOOO-OOOOO-SEEERRRRRRR!!!!!!!!!!! LMAO!!!!!!!!!! jk jk

    That sucks sooooooo much for you, lover!!! 😦 I guess eating Ice Cream Sundays on webcam would be too cruel but I LUVS them so I’m sure you won’t mind! πŸ˜€

  3. rick says:

    Well, Darlin’, no more buscuits and gravy fer you!

  4. evan says:

    don’t sweat it. I’ve had diabetes since I was kid. that’s the really shitty kind. what you have probably won’t be bad. I do recommend following dr orders, even if she didn’t explain why. I used to ignore my doc all the time and ended up in a hypoglycemic seizure. that’s what happens when you are a dumbass kid who thinks you know it all. lol

    • Renee says:

      Yeah, I hear ya…. but I really do question this stuff… my readings today were pretty normal except the fasting one. *sigh* Oh well. I am going to just talk to my new doctor after monitoring for a while and see what’s up…

  5. jbrenda1968 says:

    So sorry to hear this, Renee! You have been dealing with so much healthwise lately. Maybe treating this will clear up alot of what is going on with the other items. My mother had all sorts of wacky symptoms before finally being diagnosed with Type 2 diabetes. Once she got that under control, all the symptoms disappeared!

    Which medication are you on? Make sure you take that along with you to the new doctor and see if she can explain more about it to put your mind at ease.

    I am very happy that you have decided to finally change doctors. I too used to have a great affection for my family practitioner. He serviced my family for 25 years at least. All of my kids were with him since birth! But after I started getting older, I needed someone who was more experienced at dealing with “geriatric” issues (LOL!) and less on children’s issues.

    I am very happy with my new doctor. He came highly recommended and he spends more than enough time explaining things to me. As I get older, I find I am getting less smart and can’t comprehend as well! I must be losing brain cells! πŸ˜†

    I’m sure you will tackle this problem like you do every other problem you have had in life: head on and full speed. πŸ˜‰

    Bren

    • Renee says:

      πŸ˜† I think I have lost some brain cells myself lately! πŸ˜†

      I can’t remember the name of the med but after today’s very average and normal readings, I will definitely be waiting to start taking them until AFTER I have seen the new doctor. I’m just really confused.

      As far as clearing symptoms of weird stuff that is happening lately… well… I think those symptoms are clearing a little now… but I don’t think some of my issues will clear for a while yet… πŸ™„ πŸ˜†

  6. sarah says:

    Well that didn’t go as you had planned, now, did it? 😑 No worries, Renee. I have a feeling you will be able to conquer this obstacle in life with great ease! You are one of the most resourceful women I know!

    Plus, bonus of the new diet plan in the book you bought is that you will probably lose some weight as well! All for the same amount of work! πŸ˜‰

    • Renee says:

      Well, I’m not trying to worry about losing any weight right now, but I am concerned about this progressing and affecting other things I am trying to excel at right now.

      I did pretty well considering it was my first day back low carbing in months! I am hoping the cookies I cheated with today are gone by tomorrow so I don’t have that temptation anymore. πŸ™„ πŸ˜†

      How did Al’s interview in Cleveland go?

  7. WWWHHHHHHOOOOOOOAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!

    You’re actually approving comments again??????????? Ha! I guess I need to keep it clean now. πŸ™„ πŸ˜†

    • Renee says:

      “CLEAN” is not in any way synonymous with Nate “is hottttttttnesssssss!!!!!!” Brown, yo.

      But if you don’t quit posting stupid ass rants like you have the last week (which is why I haven’t approved comments… so thank Nate…), then I am BANNING your ass from the blog.

      Don’t make me one arm bitch slap you! πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜›

      (Love you, Nate!)

Say what you mean, Mean what you say...

