So, today I posted this picture in one of my Facebook groups:

10154284_634404266608327_2282223880139104719_n

All I asked was what the dextrose was… because I was standing at my stove and couldn’t remember which “ose” was good and which were bad. As of this posting, I have 66 responses and half of them were busy telling me not to eat it, that I might die, that MSG is the devil, and that I should make my own sausage from grass-fed meat only. Fucking food nazi’s…

So, I politely thanked everyone for their unsolicited advice and education. It did get a small select few of us talking about how the people trying to scare the shit out of educate me could possibly be scaring away people who could not afford all organic, grass-fed, pure, unprocessed products from even doing LCHF as a lifestyle/way of eating. And I completely agree.

So for all you broke ass, lazy mofos who are low carbing or doing keto or low carb, high fat (LCHF) right now, here’s what I was making with the franken-sausage in question:

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

 

CHEAP ASS ZUPPA TOSCANO

Serves 8

Ingredients Calories Protein Fat Carbs Fiber Sugar
Pork – Cured, bacon, raw, 6 ounces or 170 g 779 20 77 1 0 0
Onion – Red Onion, Raw, about 3/4 Cup chopped or 106 g 42 1 00 10 2 4
Spices – Garlic powder, 1 tbsp 28 1 0 6 1 2
Flav-R-Pac – Frozen Chopped Spinach (10 oz Package), 1 container 90 6 0 9 3 3
College Inn – Chicken Broth 14.50 oz. Can, 2 cans (2 cups ea.) 60 4 0 0 0 0
Water – Municipal, 2 cup (it totally didn’t kill me) 0 0 0 0 0 0
Cauliflower – Frozen, unprepared, one 16 oz. package or 425 g 102 9 1 20 10 9
Animal fat – Bacon grease, 3 Tablespoons 231 0 26 0 0 0
Horizon – Heavy Whipping Cream – 8 tbsp 416 2 44 3 0 0
Spices – Basil, dried, 1 Tablespoon, leaves 5 0 0 1 1 0
Aldi’s Appleton Farms – Pork Sausage, Premium, Regular, 10 oz. 950 55 80 0 0 0

 

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Brown the bacon, the processed sausage (which I did not make myself because I am effing laaazzzyyyy…), garlic powder, and chopped onion together. You can use any kind of onion but red onion is what I had on hand that needed to be used up. Once browned, most people will drain off the fat. I did not. That’s why you see an entry to bacon grease in there. It doesn’t need to be added. I am just assuming that is how much remained. (I know, I should have measured…)

  2. I put the spinach and cauliflower in the microwave for about two minutes in their own packaging just to thaw it slightly so it would be easier to work with and not in clumps. I then added the whole package of spinach and maybe a third of the cauliflower to the browned meat and onions. I let it cook for maybe 5 minutes to soak up the yummy good meat fat.soup1
  3. With the remaining cauliflower, I loaded it into my magic bullet blender with half a can of chicken broth (Gasp! CANNED chicken broth! I am for sure going to hell now…). I blended it until it looked fully pureed and then added it to the pot.

    soup2

  4. I, then, added the rest of the open can of chicken broth and added ANOTHER can of chicken broth. I also added another can of just Tap water. 😯
  5. Simmer on medium heat for about an hour.
  6. Serve with either 1 Tablespoon of heavy whipping cream mixed into each serving or with a dollop of creme fraiche (is that spelled right?) or sour cream. I used both for the picture above, because I am already screwed for the day… 😆

This recipe made over 8 cups. I’m not exactly sure how much because I got busy with the baby, and before I knew it, my husband had eaten 2 large mugs of it! He is not LCHF but tends to eat all my stuff! Grrr! He’s lucky he’s hot…

So 8 total – 1 cup servings. 338 Calories / 12g protein / 29g fat / 6g carb / 2g fiber / 2g sugar per serving.

I haven’t read up on keto eating alot but I believe this is perfect in the macros for that diet and looks good to me as a LCHF person. The protein is moderate and you could even eat two servings and still be okay. You could also lower the carb content by eliminating the onion, or maybe doing less spinach or cauliflower…

And, this cost *maybe* $6-$7 total. And this is a meal, folks. Filling, higher fat content, and tastes great. Even my 2 year old son ate a full bowl of it with some evil saltine crackers added in. 😉

As you can see, it doesn’t have to cost a ton of money to eat a LCHF lifestyle. Would it be better to use all unprocessed, organic ingredients? Of course it would. But it would have cost at least 3 times more to do that, maybe more…

So… that all being said… don’t let the food nazis make you feel guilty for trying to better your life in an affordable way. Obesity kills. Period. Do what you need to do to better yourself and FUCK THE HATERS! 😉

PEACE!!!

 

Say what you mean, Mean what you say...

