I know what you’re thinking, but… WRONG SCALE!

My newest “thing” to do is literally weigh everything that goes into my mouth. I have no idea why I am wasting so much of my energy and effort to do this. But I am doing it. :/

taco3

Weird, right? I may need like a Scales Anonymous meeting or something… Damn perfectionist OCDers! ARRRGGHHH!!!!

So, I figured I would post a new recipe. Lettuce wraps have also become a new obsession for me. I actually have some lower carb tortilla wraps from Buena La Vida (4 net carbs). My problem with them is that they taste doughy and the gross carb count is 9 per wrap. That’s too rich for my blood when I am currently trying to keep my gross under 25-30. And I like the quantity that romaine lettuce leaves give me.

So, tonight, after having a lunch of 5 BLT wraps (YUM!), I decided that the ground turkey in my fridge needed to be cooked pronto! What to make, what to make… TACOS! Of course!

Here it is!

 

taco2taco1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Looks awesome, right? I have no idea why people aren’t making taco meat every damn day on Low Carb! If someone had told me how little net carbs are in these spices, I would have been all over that from day one!

Instructions: Brown the ground turkey over medium heat on the stovetop in a regular skillet. You may need to add some fat if it’s extra lean like mine was. I used 1 tsp. of bacon grease leftover from my lunch. I didn’t count it above, though, because I figured most people aren’t as lazy as me people may use different fats than me. Anywhooo… brown the meat. Add the spices. Add maybe 1/2 cup of water. Keep the heat on medium for the stove. Stir it up real well, heat thoroughly, and make sure all the spices are blended into the meat good. Serve in a lettuce wrap! Or whatever your current wrap obsession is… Servings – 8 – 1/3 cup servings approximately.

DISCLOSURE: I should also tell you that this meat is intensely flavorful. I think that’s better when I am using something like lettuce as a wrap. You could probably cut the chili powder and cumin in half and it would still taste just fine. And, you may be able to eliminate the onion powder as well. I only added it because I thought I would not be using onions in the wrap but I did… because I love onions. It’s a flaw, I know… šŸ˜›

Here’s the final product:

taco5

Holy freaking YUM, right??? It was sincerely awesome. The whole two wrap meal was 420 calories, 38 grams of protein, 26 grams of fat (this could maybe be higher, but I’m using ground turkey… next time I’ll use beef), 10 grams of carbs with 3 grams of fiber = 7 NET CARBS. That’s with the meat, lettuce, salsa, cheese, onions, and sour cream! I thought about maybe doing a squirt of a chile infused oil of some sort… to up the fat… Or maybe avocado?

If you’d like to see what I’m eating and doing, you can friend me over at myfitnesspal. My name is reneeroling over there and I am a loser with no friends. Maybe because I’m obnoxious, but it still gets lonely. šŸ˜¦

Tomorrow is weigh in day and I am feeling pretty pissy PMSy so we will see how that goes. This next month, if the weather would just cooperate, I am going to start walking. Which reminds me that I need to go order my stun gun flashlight so people don’t EFF with me… Small town folk, ya know? šŸ˜†

PEACE!!!

 

Comments
  1. Bubbles says:

    Don’t worry about weigh in day, you’ll be great šŸ™‚ And I had just bought myself some ground beef from Costco yesterday, ’cause I realized that I need to make tacos more often!

Say what you mean, Mean what you say...

